In the Library

This poem is written by Michele DeSilva and inspired by her work in our beautiful library!

In the Library

I browse the aisles
touching the rigid spines
of the books with one finger
feeling the undulation
from book edge to
book edge, like waves,
fossilized and categorized.

It is the titles that I am here for,
not necessarily the contents.
The promise and potential of
the world seems to be in these titles.

1001 Questions about Trees
Not quite an even number –
that one question
that couldn’t be left out.
I imagine editors pouring over
a text, consulting experts,
trying to cut one last
question but ultimately unable,
because each was too important.
I don’t particularly need the answers,
am satisfied by the questions.

Drownproofing techniques for floating,
swimming, and open-water survival

Drownproofing – who knew there
was such a thing? The title
promises that the accident
can be prevented, the crisis
averted. The author’s name
is Wetmore. I wonder if this
is a joke, just as the human instinct
to take caution is an elaborate ruse,
for we can prevent nothing
that is meant to happen.

4 Responses to In the Library

  1. Lauran Torres says:

    I loved the information on the Food books. I enjoy these when ever I find them. I’ve read most of these and they were very rewarding. I continue looking for more. Thanks Stacey !

    Lauran

  2. Lauran Torres says:

    I loved the information on the Food books. I enjoy them when ever I find them. I’ve read most of these and they were very rewarding. I continue looking for more. Thanks Stacey !

    Lauran

  3. Sara Farina says:

    Very beautiful poem!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Sara

  4. David Bilyeu says:

    Thanks for the great poem Michele. I wonder how many poems there are about libraries. Guess I could research that! đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

