My Daily Read: Andria Woodell

Andria is an Associate Professor of Psychology.  She has a PhD in Experimental Psychology from the University of Arkansas and has been teaching at COCC since 2004.

ConXn: What is the first thing you read in the morning?

Andria: I check my phone and read NPR headlines, MSN headlines, News and Weather App headlines and then Facebook for the real news.

ConXn: What newspaper and magazines do you subscribe to or read regularly? What do you read in print versus online versus mobile?

Andria: I have subscriptions to a few psychology journals that I don’t get to read until the break. Most magazines I read are those passed down to me by other faculty or I grab while working out. I have a preference for Runner’s World, National Geographic, and cooking or gardening magazines. I am not a good runner, cook or gardener—but they are good escapes and I like to think that maybe one day I will become a good runner, cook or gardener when I have time and use all these tips they are telling me.

ConXn: What books have you recently read? Do any stand out?

Andria: When teaching my Violence and Aggression class during the year, I gravitate to fluffy, mindless sci-fi books. I have been reading the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. Accidentally discovered them a while back for a road trip and have had fun reading them.

ConXn: Has your reading of professional journals changed in the past 10 years? If so, how?

Andria: I found that they are much more interesting to read when I am not being forced to do so in order to make a deadline for a research paper. They make 100X more sense now and I actually like going through them to find things to launch discussions in class. In terms of what I read, still mostly psychology journals like the APS Observer or the Psych Bulletin.

ConXn: Do you use Twitter? If so, whom do you follow?

Andria: Nope. I am attempting to become a luddite and I have been trying to actually move away from technology since I am so immersed with it during the school year.

ConXn: Do you blog? If so, why?

Andria: Nope. No time and my Violence and Aggression class makes me a little wary about how accessible people are via internet. However, I have been journaling the past year in this thing called a notebook with something referred to as a pen. It has been fun to keep up with my adventures this year even though I have discovered that my handwriting is atrocious.

ConXn: What are the guilty pleasures in your media diet?

Andria: I do peruse the entertainment tab in MSN to keep up on what is happening in the surreal world.  Occasionally, I have accidentally stumbled upon marathons of the Millionaire Matchmaker that I find absolutely fascinating in a social psychology/train wreck sort of way.  Good fodder for class discussions and psychological analysis.

Leave a Reply

